| Contact one of our Pierce County criminal attorneys now. |
Get your questions answered.
Don't take a chance with something this important!
Talk to a Tacoma criminal driving lawyer now!
Serving all of Pierce County, Washington
Tacoma Criminal Defense Lawyers
Get help and information now.
(253) 572-7272Negligent Driving in the First Degree is a serious driving crime in Washington State.
Negligent driving is often a serious criminal offense in Washington State. We handle all First and Second Degree cases. (253) 572-7272.
There are three types of Negligent Driving, all of which are very serious and should be handled with the help of an experienced criminal driving attorney. Negligent Driving is broken down into three different types.
Negligent Driving 1° is a misdemeanor - which is a crime. The maximum penalty is 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine. On top of that, there can be court costs and assessments, putting the actual costs over the maximum fine amount. Additionally, there can and often is imposed the maximum probation period of two years, during which time you will also be facing additional rules.
RCW 46.61.5249 state in part: A person is guilty of negligent driving in the first degree if he or she operates a motor vehicle in a manner that is both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property, and exhibits the effects of having consumed liquor or an illegal drug or exhibits the effects of having inhaled or ingested any chemical, whether or not a legal substance, for its intoxicating or hallucinatory effects.
Negligent Driving 1° is a serious crime that is very similar to a DUI, and the Prosecution will treat the case as such. It is extremely important that anyone facing this criminal charge take it seriously.
Negligent Driving 2° is an infraction, meaning it is not a crime. It is essentially like the 1° minus any reference to alcohol or drugs. While it may not be a crime, it is considered the most serious infraction you can get. It results in a $550 fine. The difference between a Neg 2 ° and Reckless Driving, which is a crime, can often be very minimal, which is why it often impacts your insurance rates dramatically. Just like other driving crimes, it is considered a major moving violation for Commercial Drivers.
RCW 46.61.525 states in part: A person is guilty of negligent driving in the second degree if, under circumstances not constituting negligent driving in the first degree, he or she operates a motor vehicle in a manner that is both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property.
The last type is Negligent Driving 2° with a vulnerable user victim (RCW 46.61.526). It is when an individual is driving as described in RCW 46.61.525 but additionally, he or she proximately causes the death, great bodily harm, or substantial bodily harm of a vulnerable user of a public way.
It is extremely important that anyone facing this charge immediately contact our office for a free consultation to discuss your options. An individual who is found to have committed this is facing a $5,000 fine and a 90 day license suspension.